

## 35th Annual Franklin B. Walter All-Scholastic Awards

Nationwide Hotel & Conference Center Lewis Center, OH

April 15, 2024

# Franklin B. Walter All-Scholastic Award

The Franklin B. Walter All-Scholastic Award was established in 1989 by Ohio's educational service center superintendents to recognize outstanding student achievement. One senior from each of Ohio's eighty-eight counties is eligible to receive this annual honor. The recipients we recognize today are some of the best and brightest students in the Class of 2024.

Dr. Franklin B. Walter served as State Superintendent from 1977-1991. During his tenure, Dr. Walter worked with three governors and significantly improved public education in Ohio. He received numerous honors and earned the respect and admiration of educators nationwide. His integrity, leadership, optimism and commitment serves as an example for all. Dr. Walter passed away on September 15, 2010, at the age of 80.



### Event Agenda

#### Call to Order

Jennifer Felker

Board President, OESCA

Superintendent, ESC of the Western Reserve

#### Welcome and Opening Remarks

Craig Burford

Executive Director

Ohio Educational Service Center Association

#### Pledge of Allegiance

#### Invocation

#### **Keynote Speakers**

#### Presentation of Awards

Craig Burford and Ohio Educational Service Center Superintendents

Closing
Craig Burford
Jennifer Felker

#### 2024 Franklin B. Walter Scholars

The following students are accorded the honor of being recognized as Franklin B. Walter Scholars. They have achieved this honor by virtue of their academic achievement, personal accomplishments, and community service. These individuals represent the best and brightest of the Class of 2024. The Ohio Educational Service Center Association extends congratulations to the award winners, their families, and their school districts.

County	Awardee	School District
Adams	Brandt Seaman	Adams County Ohio Valley School District
Allen	John-Paul Yoder	Bluffton Exempted Village School District
Ashland	Jenna Hartson	Ashland City School District
Athens	Helen Liu	Athens City School District
Ashtabula	Katelynn McCollister	Buckeye Local Schools
Auglaize	Chloe Homan	New Bremen Local Schools
Belmont	Lauren Miller	Union Local School District
Brown	Ainsley Beckler	Fayetteville-Perry Local School District
Butler	Maggie Henderson	Edgewood City School District
Carroll	Abigail Moody	Brown Local School District
Clark	Colleen Kottmyer	Tecumseh Local Schools
Clermont	Cate Coulter	New Richmond Exempted Village School District
Clinton	Danica Henderson	Clinton-Massie Local Schools
Columbiana	Elizabeth Baker	Lisbon Exempted Village School District
Coshocton	John Stamper	Coshocton City Schools
Crawford	Luke Tinnermeier	Galion City Schools
Darke	Cali Harter	Greenville City Schools

County Awardee **School District** Defiance Noah Harmon Hicksville Exempted Village School District Buckeye Valley Local Schools Delaware Sam Stokey Erie Noah Normington-Slay Perkins Local Schools Fairfield Allison Foltz Walnut Township Local School District **Emily Turner** Fayette Miami Trace Local Schools Franklin Lauren White Hamilton Local Schools Fulton Sophie Sterken Pettisville Schools Gallia Nathanael Baird Gallipolis City Schools Myra Utterback Geauga West Geauga Local Schools Landon Gardner Greeneview Local School District Greene Guernsey Caleb Stanberry Cambridge City School District Hamilton Anjali Raman Forest Hills School District McComb Local Schools Hancock Emerson Lora Hardin Cooper Thomas Hardin Northern Local School District Harrison Katarina Carman Harrison Hills City School District Miriam Bower Henry Holgate Local School District Scarlett Studebaker Highland Hillsboro City Schools Ashton Mason Hocking Logan Hocking Local School District Holmes Autumn Shaw East Holmes Local Schools Huron Thomas Chime Norwalk City Schools Abigail Plants Jackson Jackson City Schools Knox Mateo Pechon-Elkins Mount Vernon City Schools

Perry Local Schools

Rock Hill Local School District

Lake

Lawrence

Alexa Titus

Allison Rogers

County	Awardee	School District
Licking	William Kohut	Lakewood Local School District
Logan	Hannah Metzger	Indian Lake Local Schools
Lorain	Collin Adkins	Firelands Local Schools
Lucas	Allison Ludwig	Perrysburg School District
Madison	Luke Wilson	London City Schools
Mahoning	Kaleigh Williams	Western Reserve Local School District
Marion	Maura Murphy	Pleasant Local Schools
Medina	Hallee Dyer	Medina City School District
Meigs	Brayden Otto	Southern Local School District
Mercer	Caleb Wendel	St. Henry Consolidated Local School District
Miami	Evan Chesshir	Tipp City Exempted Village School District
Monroe	Kenneth Robertson	Switzerland of Ohio Local School District
Morgan	Edie Ponchak	Morgan Local School District
Morrow	Parker Bartlett	Mount Gilead Exempted Village Schools
Muskingum	Alivia Sims	Tri-Valley Local Schools
Noble	Katie Franklin	Caldwell Exempted Village Schools
Ottawa	Nicholas Slagle	Benton-Carroll-Salem Local School District
Paulding	Malia Manz	Paulding Exempted Village Schools
Perry	Mason Pyle	New Lexington School District
Pickaway	Bailey Burke	Westfall Local Schools
Pike	Roxanne Milar	Western Local School District
Portage	Alaina Huebner	Rootstown Local School District
Preble	Bailey Wright	Eaton Community Schools
Richland	Justin Gibson	Madison Local School District

County	Awardee	School District
Ross	Zane Pickerrell	Zane Trace Local School District
Sandusky	Levi Hoerig	Lakota Local Schools
Scioto	Kara Carter	Washington Nile Local School District
Seneca	Olivia Stockmaster	Seneca East Local Schools
Shelby	Janel Platfoot	Botkins Local School District
Stark	Jenna Hatalla	Sandy Valley Local School District
Summit	Claire Bennett	Norton City School District
Trumbull	Kailey Ague	Liberty Local School District
Tuscarawas	Alexa Alsept	New Philadelphia City Schools
Union	Madelyn Zimmerman	North Union Local Schools
Van Wert	Cadence Cook	Crestview Local Schools
Vinton	Michael Ramsey	Vinton County Local Schools
Warren	Ava Vo	Springboro Community City Schools
Washington	Haylee Berentz	Frontier Local School District
Wayne	John Pomfret	Wooster City School District
Williams	Paige Oxender	North Central Local Schools
Wood	Lainee Partin	Northwood School District
Wyandot	Alexia Chevalier	Mohawk Local Schools

#### **About OESCA**

The Ohio Educational Service Center Association (OESCA) provides support, professional learning and legislative advocacy for the 51 Ohio educational service centers (ESCs) that serve school districts statewide. OESCA represents ESCs on the state and national levels and seeks to promote excellence in education through the quality services provided by its member organizations. OESCA also partners with the Ohio Department of Education on a variety of projects and grants.

#### About Ohio's ESC Network

Ohio's 51 ESCs are large-scale, regionally located educational support agencies that enhance the ability of schools and education professionals to provide high quality educational opportunities for all students regardless of where they live and attend school. ESCs are the largest component of the state's Educational Regional Service System (ERSS), which has the statutory mandate to support state and regional education initiatives and efforts to improve school effectiveness and student achievement.



Ohio Educational Service Center Association 8050 North High Street, Suite 150 Columbus, Ohio 43235 (614) 846-3855, info@oesca.org www.oesca.org

